Share |

DCSS Teacher of the Year Finalists Announced

Original Publish Date: 
March 22, 2013

Special to the Metro

 Twenty-seven teachers from throughout the system have been chosen to represent their schools as Teacher of the Year.

Each of these teachers is a committed professional educator who serves our students and community as one of our very best in the classroom. While all are winners, a screening committee has selected eight finalists to vie for the title of DCSS Teacher of the Year. The names of all the teachers who were selected at their respective schools; the eight finalists are also indicated.

The community selection committee has been observing the finalists in their classroom since February 25.  That process ended March 8. The district winner will be announced at the annual Teacher of the Year and Retired Educators Banquet to be hosted by Monroe Comprehensive High School on April 25:  Melinda Suber, Albany High School (finalist);

Jason Whatley, Dougherty Comprehensive High School; Kimberly Chambers, Monroe Comprehensive High School; Angela Wiley, Westover Comprehensive High School; James Rhodes, Albany Middle School; Nancy Cox, Dougherty International Education Middle School; Audrey Brown, Merry Acres Middle School (finalist); Carolyn Long, Radium Springs Middle Magnet School of the Arts; Shanda Morine, Robert A Cross Middle Magnet School(finalist); Tabithy Lester-Thomas, Southside Middle School; Ashley Tolbert, Alice Coachman Elementary School; Lerkeesha Jackson, International Studies Elementary Charter School; Victoria Denise Johnson, Jackson Heights Elementary School; Erica Wade, Lake Park Elementary School (finalist); Melissa Childs, Lamar Reese Magnet School of the Arts(finalist); Eve Schroeder, Lincoln Elementary Magnet School(finalist); Caren Clower Phillips, Live Oak Elementary School

Stephanie Muhammad, Magnolia Elementary School; Travis Walker-Erwin, Martin Luther King, Jr. Elementary School; Helen King, Morningside Elementary School; Ashley Medlock, Northside Elementary School; Gloria Evans-Ford, Radium Springs Elementary School;

Dr Marcus Washington, Sherwood Acres Elementary School(finalist); Zatambra Jones, Sylvester Road Elementary School(finalist); Tashera Shenita Durham, Turner Elementary School;

Marilyn Banks, West Town Elementary School; and Alegra Jenkins, South Georgia Regional Achievement Center.